The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

Resolution No. 2002-9

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES ENDORSING THE OPPOSITION TO PROPOSED AMENDEMENT TO NAHASDA (PL 104-330)

- WHEREAS, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and;
- WHEREAS, the concept behind the tribal agreement which led to the creation of the formula used in NAHASDA was the use of census numbers and distribution accordingly, and the institution of any set aside or tribal minimum changes this basic premise for the distribution of NAHASDA funds; and;
- **WHEREAS,** the institution of a tribal minimum payment from the funding level as it currently exists would lead to a reduction in the funding levels for many of the tribes, leading to a disruption of current and planned activities; and;
- **WHEREAS,** the institution of a small tribe minimum is not among the amendments endorsed by the tribes in general, and has not been distributed for consultation and tribal input, and;
- **WHEREAS,** any change to funding formula should be evaluated for adoptions through the Negotiated Rules process, and;
- **WHEREAS,** we understand the needs of the smaller tribes, but realize that these 1) stem from the fact that the resources for Native American Housing programs nationwide are inadequate, and 2) believe that any solution, which causes new problems, is not one we can support;
- **NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes do not support the institution in law of a set aside or minimum payment for any tribe in the re-authorization of the Native American Housing Program.

Resolution No. 2002-9

CERTIFICATON

Bill Anoatubby Signed
Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting in Catoosa, Oklahoma on April 12, 2002 by a vote of <u>22</u> **FOR**, <u>0</u> **OPPOSED**, and **_ ABSTENTIONS**.

Chadwick Smith Signed	Greg E. Pyle Signed
Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief	Gregory E. Pyle, Chief
Cherokee Nation	Choctaw Nation
R. Perry Beaver Signed	Jerry Haney Signed
R. Perry Beaver, Principal Chief	Inner Honor Dringing Chief
R. Terry Deaver, Timerpar Ciner	Jerry Haney, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation	Seminole Nation